Satsang

It’s around this time,  when birth is fast approaching, that I want to withdraw a little. That I feel like drawing the curtains and focusing on what is about to happen. I’ve had this past weekend as a date in my head for some time. My blessingway, on Saturday, was the rough deadline I had for work and any other projects I felt the need to finish. I knew that it would be a wonderful way to begin that move inwards.

And my goodness, it was. I am quite truly blessed to know some of the loveliest, kindest and strongest women, who did their very best to make me feel special and honoured which is something everybody, and certainly every pregnant Mama, should feel.

I wanted to describe it and share it with you, but I don’t know how to put into words the way our connection to each other was honoured and celebrated, or the overwhelming wave of gratitude I felt for the words and energies shared. My house is throbbing with their wonderful words and wishes.

In stark contrast, sometimes the world around is not so full of light and joy. Unfortunately there are people intent on bringing conflict to you no matter what. But as I was reminded yesterday, we are responsible for how we feel. It is up to us to say, ‘No thanks. Good for you, but not for me.’

That is exactly what I know I need to do now. To focus on the incredible experience of my blessingway, of the wonderful tribe of women around me who have my best interest at heart, and to take responsibility for who and what I allow in my life. 

‘In the tradition of yoga, keeping good company is a special practice called ‘satsang’, which literally means the company of truth, or the company of wise people….it is spiritual community.’ (Uma Tuli, ‘Yoni Shakti’)

FB_IMG_1431427370316

FB_IMG_1431256069855

FB_IMG_1431427326960

FB_IMG_1431427315976

FB_IMG_1431427335724

FB_IMG_1431427338661

FB_IMG_1431427322486

FB_IMG_1431427341508

FB_IMG_1431427350790

FB_IMG_1431427360903

(Thanks to my talented friend Laura Toomer for taking some lovely photos in a way that was unobtrusive and very gentle)

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Satsang

  1. TheEeeAnne says:

    Reblogged this on These things, they do happen. and commented:
    My dearest friend’s blog account of her Blessingway… beautiful.

  2. TheEeeAnne says:

    You are the best part of my mama tribe. What an amazing day this way, and what an amazing tribe you have!

Leave a Reply

