storms

Do you want to know about the storm that opened me or the storm that closed me, both in North Carolina.

One when we were driving back to her beach house, and there were kids – everyone sixteen seventeen eighteen – on the roads in their shorts and flip flops and bikinis and I think it was a Saturday because it seemed like everyone was heading to a party somewhere and then without warning the sky flipped, clouds dropped, rain lashed down and belted off the ground and then everyone was leaping into vans and cars and pickups and laughing still and soaked and we were soaked and my friend was pressing the button to make the car roof slide into place and there was Eminem on her CD player and I knew it was the beginning.

The other two years later, when I stood outside a white house and watched the front yard fill with this incredible hot thunder and I was already broken by that point but the storm cleft me apart its grey mouth pressed me into the porch and there was a feeling that everything I could see, the car, the fence, the things strewn on the grass, had been in use only a moment before and then he came out and put his arms around me and we stood together and that was the last time we stood together like that and we both knew it.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.