a bedroom done

I feel a little grumbly today, and a bit out of sorts. Tired, achey, grumpy, and this may all be because I have just over one month until I am officially due, but it doesn’t fit well with the simultaneous want to do EVERYTHING. And even though little Ezra may come late, or early, just the thought of it being so soon seems both impossible and exciting. I am at that stage now where everything seems slightly harder. Breathing is harder, moving anywhere is challenging and turning over in bed? A herculean task.

Not to mention I am not sleeping very well. I can’t get comfy, and when I can, I find myself unable to fall asleep. I am trying not to let myself whinge though – All is well, but I do think it’s time to take it a bit easier.

Thankfully, we finished the Little’s bed/playroom. In time for one of my dearest friends staying this weekend. All but the big Steamer Trunk which is on its way. And here it is.

bedroom 9

We had a red, blue and brown theme going on – colours I think are lovely together but still quite earthy.

bedroom 7

bedroom 3

I am particulaly fond of the way the tree mural turned out. There was a point, before it was finished, when there was nothing hanging from the branches or walls, that I stared at it for 5 minutes and wondered if it was a little too nightmarish, but I actually love how simple it is. I thought about painting or sticking fabric leaves on, but I like just the silhouette. Plus I figure we can add and subtract various seasonal bits and bobs along the way.

bedroom 8

Our reading nook just needs a lamp/fairy lights to complete it, but suffice to say, Ava took to it immediately and has spent a great deal of time on the bean bags (one in a vintage pattern of boys playing baseball, the other in a super-soft brown fleece)

bedroom 6

playing peekabo, and just enjoying the cubby hole she has to herself.

bedroom 5

bedroom 10

We didn’t spend much money on it at all, yet it looks so completely different – I love how making use of the space a room offers can create a completely different feel and sense of harmony in it. Usually, as with most things, I think it’s down to details and to leaving it simple, with just a few key features.

bedroom 4

The tree wall (which will be where the steamer trunk goes) is entirely dedicated to dressing up.

bedroom 2

I’d also like to have a go at a braided rug for their room, but that can wait a little. Mostly, it is done, and with plenty of time to go, too.

bedroom

Now my nesting is directing me almost entirely towards our garden(s) which are such a source of despair for me at the moment. I’d love to have a beautiful back garden but I am so clueless that I just end up working myself into a tizzy when I go outside and try to figure what I want to do and where. I’ve tried reading gardening blogs or articles, but they’re not very helpful given that I don’t know exactly what it already in our garden or…well, anything at all really.

But it will get sorted, one way or another, as these things do. And in the meantime, I will divert my nesting drive elsewhere – perhaps into starting Ezra’s String quilt.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a bedroom done

  1. Emma Fairley says:

    Kendal it is gorgeous! You have very lucky little people indeed. I love the pictures hanging off the tree, so simple and so effective.

  2. mshannahw says:

    It is beautiful! I especially love the reading nook, there is a recessed thingy (technical term!) like that in what will be Freddie’s room so I am tempted to steal the idea! x

    • Kendal says:

      I steal all my ideas from Pinterest so it is entirely stealable! I know there are much more technical ways of doing it too, with hula hoops and curtain rails etc, but the more simple the better for me 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

