A Spring Cardi and Crutches

Well now, for such a non productive week, it has certainly been eventful. Last Friday evening I went over on my ankle and got a very bad sprain. There was a loud crunch and an ankle that looked a bit like something from a bad horror movie. After waiting a couple of days, hoping it might miraculously heal, I ended up getting an x-ray and being told that I had to keep it elevated for around 2 weeks, and then be on crutches for the next 4. I’m hoping that it won’t take so long, but the pain is certainly quite…intense, and paracetemol only does so much to ease it.

Every so often I attempt to do something on crutches and then later really wish I hadn’t. I think this is going to be something I have to just ride out, and let get better in its own time.

So, aside from the horrible reality of not being able to go to my good friend’s wedding (where I was meant to be maid of honour and Ava was meant to be flower girl) I have been dealing with being so immobile by trying to keep busy. Namely in ways of knitting and watching things like Downton Abbey (which is annoyingly good), or reading lots. I read The Perks of Being a Wallflower on Tuesday afternoon and felt very much the way I did when I read Catcher in the Rye for the first time.

I’ve been trying to inflict my nesting onto Howard, who has taken the week off to look after me, and Ava, and has been ridiculously good at doing both.

see saw
Park time with Daddy

Somehow, through suddenly having time to get things sorted, we’ve ended up with a lovely new sling for Ezra, an entire range of reusable nappies and wraps and all sorts of goodness, lots of sleepsuits and other soft and lovely baby items, and a vintage suitcase and vintage steamer trunk for Ms Ava and Mr Ezra’s dressing up space, courtesy of her grandparents.

Now all we need is a woven wrap and a sheepskin and we are pretty sorted. Although I might also invest in a new set of super soft PJ’s and dressing gown for those post-birth weeks where comfiness is the name of the game.

But back to the knitting. Sam kindly brought round some absolutely gorgeous turqoise wool yesterday – beautiful and so very Ava, so that I could finally knit my little girl something. And I did – I knitted her a kimono style cardigan with a ribbon fastening and I am so very pleased with it.

Spring Cardi 6

I think she likes it. She’s not really one for cardigans, or clothes of any kind really, but she seemed to enjoy posing in it at least.

Spring Cardi 2

Spring Cardi 3
She did this pose all by herself

Spring Cardi 5

And today I finally got a package of knitting needles through- pure bamboo – 18 sets for me, and 18 for Emi, as a late birthday present (only one week though – not too bad).

needles

I’m about a quarter of a way through a pair of knitted trousers for Ezra too, in Aran wool. It’s all very exciting, and makes me feel just a little less of a useless cripple. If only I could find a way to work my sewing machine in bed.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

