A Day of Making

It has been a busy, busy weekend. Last night I didn’t get home until past ten. This is unusual for me, on any night, but specifically a Saturday night. When I left my friend’s party, I felt fine, but by the time I got home I was absolutely shattered.

And that has carried over to today. Nonetheless, I am firmly back in the making mindset. So, armed with fabrics and ribbons and felt, I have spent a great deal of time today in crafting mode. It has felt good.

I finished another elf hat (my fourth this week) in cherry pie. Ava is once again kindly modelling it.

I made a ‘shooting star’ for our winter seasons table, which we’ll start in December, and some winter fairies for that as well.

I dug out the half-completed table runner and started quilting that.

You just have to be in the right sort of mood for the quilting part of quilt-making – particularly when there is a lot of stopping and starting involved. I got about a third of the way through and decided that was enough for today.

And then I made a letter holder using one of my favourite techniques – no sewing, just a clever use of two peices of fabric, and an embroidery hoop, and it’s done. I expect my craft room will soon be overrun with these.

And then I started making plans for a kingsize quilt I’ve got in mind for us – something I’m hoping to work on gradually next year. Using my most favourite wonky log cabin technique, I’m aiming to do a square a month. That way, it should be easily completed by next December, if not before. And, since true log cabin quilting uses at least two layers of batting (making necessary all those little time consuming quilting lines), it should be extra warm. It will be a rainbow quilt, with each square focusing on each of these beautiful plain cotton colours my friend so kindly got me from Purl Soho for my last birthday.

And now, I think rest is most definitely needed. Although this second trimester energy doesn’t quite have the same oomph as it did last time round (I suspect something to do with having a very energetic toddler this time) I am grateful to be in a mindset when I am once again wanting to be organised, and wanting to make.

I have sorted out most of the guest posts on Crafty by Nurture for when my little one is born, which feels good, but I am keeping this space open as I expect there will be many a moment in the insane twilight hours of newborn bliss where I simply have to write something, here.

It’s still Autumn, but it feels so very wintery. And that makes me want to read Carson (some writers are winter writers), listen to Leonard Cohen and write all the time, every day.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day of Making

  1. Donna says:

    I’m glad the Purl Soho fabric has such a lovely destiny! I love wonky log cabin quilts too. I can’t wait to see how it turns out, although I know I’ll have to as these things take time :o)

Leave a Reply

