and then the fair was over

I haven’t been on here in a while, but then, at some point last week it dawned on me that the Craft Fair was looming ahead – dangerously close – and that my list of dresses, cushions, bloomers etc remained intimidatingly unchecked. So I sewed. And I sewed a lot. I have spent the greater part of this week sewing – during Ava’s naps, whilst Ava played with my bobbins and late into the evening every night.

So intense was my sewing last weekend that I ran myself right down after two days and had to take a day off where I did very little, just to recover. My husband keeps reminding me that I need to learn to pace myself, and he’s right of course, but that’s not really how I work. I’m a last-minute, adrenaline driven, do-your-undergraduate-dissertation-in-48-hours kind of girl. And although I agree it is certainly not always good for your health, it is how I’m used to working and learning.

So, I was pleasantly surprised today when all my dresses sold and some other bits and pieces too – 10 things altogether and just under £100 made, which is so much better than I had anticipated, my doom-goggled Cancerian tendency to predict the worst hoping that I might, at least, sell one thing.

It was a great day all around and both Mama Pixie and Felt So Good, with whom I shared an extra long stall, also did very well. So well that we started planning a Christmas stall, where I will most definitely focus on elf hats, the one item of Ava’s Mama-made wardrobe that gets comments every single time she wears it. Yes, these little elf hats are one of my most favourite things in the world, and I think a whole stall of red, green and other motley colours would be quite seasonal.

It was lovely to meet many other AP Mamas and Papas. One woman who had a stall on hypnobirthing recognised my name from the article I did on it for the NCT magazine, and we frothed with excitement over the wonders of this kind of birthing. There were so many gorgeous slings in the most stunning colours and an array of other lovely things – sling dolls, wooden toys and breastfeeding necklaces.

And now? Now I can breathe and relax. I have books to read! I was so wired up by the time I got to bed most nights that I ended up reading 3 novels in the past week, which did nothing to abate my lack of sleep. I am looking forward to doing a whole lot more reading this week, seeing friends, toddler playdates and then, after a night or two off, I have a long list of things that I am so eager to get started on – pretty things for our house, two quilts that are overdue gifts, a couple of dresses that were ordered for August and a birthday present that I want to get just right. Not to mention Emi’s July crafty gift. And the indefinite list of dresses I would like to make for Ava and her friends from my new sewing books. I have to practice winter dresses anyway so I have a good excuse.

This is the best summer in a long time, floods and all.







About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to and then the fair was over

  1. Coral says:

    Wow, your stall looks AMAZING. Well done ladies! I am not suprised that all your dresses sold Kendal, they are simply the most luscious, gorgeous hand crafted items ever. I am so lucky, we have booties, hat, dress, cushion and quilt all made by Mama Make! I am so looking forward to winter when Billy can wear his booties and Ivy can wear her hat. But also need a nice hot day for her to wear her dress soon. Billy has a lovely comfortable sleep with his quilt btw. Thanks so much, kiss kiss KISS xxx

  2. sio orient says:

    Kendal, all this Mama Make stuff suits you down to the ground, I’m so glad you have found your calling for now, hope you’re still going as passionately by the time I get myself a little creature 🙂 … so in about five years time maybe. xx

Leave a Reply

