this week, so far

we are spending more time outdoors than in

we have been settling into a new rhythm and routine that I am tweaking as we go along

I have hung a lot of washing out that has not, subsequently, been rained on

I have missed America sorely, reminiscing with my dear friend about our time there 10 years ago, how carefree and young we were, how sure we were that we would living there again by now. Those were good days, filled with grace. I still feel far from home, sometimes.

I have cut flowers from our garden and watched roses bloom outside our front window

I have eaten ice cream in the bath with Lady A

I have watched a lot of the same baby signing video that Ava adores right now

we have done some more house things, but mostly relaxed into our new place and shrugged off the bits that can wait

we have joined the Ralphs on their baking day and made scones with them

I have read a lot of Mary Oliver and ‘Franny and Zooey’ and felt both lost and found – that way only Salinger can make you feel

Ava’s June books arrived, ‘Pelle’s New Suit’ by Elsa Beskow and ‘Everywhere Babies’ by Marlee Frazee.

I have enjoyed time with such an inspiring Mama and her son who is the smartest and sweetest kid I know, and felt thankful for the contagious spirit of this mindful and attentive Mama.







What is the name
of the deep breath I would take
over and over
for all of us? Call it

whatever you want, it is
happiness, it is another one
of the ways to enter
fire

-from Sunrise by Mary Oliver

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

