for love of the floppy hat

Last year, at one point, I recall counting 12 floppy hats in Ava’s drawer. She had a lot of them. I can’t think of many things cuter than a little girl in a floppy hat. But this year, what with our stuff still being in Scotland (only for one more week!) she has a much less impressive one summer hat. And that disappeared a few days ago.

So it was that I just had to make her one – and how fortuitous that there happened to be a rather lovely pattern in the Oliver + S book I recently got. I’ve never made a hat before, but the last two days have been so unbearably hot that I’ve had to lather up her oh-so-fair strawberry hair with suncream. Not so lovely.

So, here it is, the Oliver + S Reversible (Oh how I *love* reversible) Floppy hat:

I chose a medium weight natural muslin for one side and a gorgeous lilac floral print for the other.

I have to confess, this is not my best sewn item. At about 5.30pm yesterday, all of a sudden, I started to feel rather ill. Thick throat, dizzy, sore ears and sore legs. This is how I get ill – hard and fast, but on the plus side, it never seems to stay around as long. Last night was the worst of it and I have been relying on paracetemol and water today, but it resulted in my cutting quite a few corners. Rookie errors, like not ironing hems or seams, and my stitching leaves rather a lot to be desired. When it was done, my husband turned to me and, quite earnestly, told me what a wonderful sewer I was. Very sweet, although this time around I’m not sure the hat deserves such praise. But it works. It’s functional. It’s pretty, and maybe the best thing of all – it fulfills a necessity.

And it turned out a lot better than I thought it would at 9 o’ clock last night, blearily trying to figure out which part goes where. And, as it goes, the pattern was very easy to follow. So easy I tweaked it a little to make the brim just a little wider, which turned out quite well.

Ava, however, was not in the mood to model tonight, and so we ended up with quite a few blurry but amusing photos.




About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to for love of the floppy hat

  1. Donna says:

    I think it looks lovely! Your sewing skills are amazing, and improving all the time.

    Do you have any of the other Oliver + S patterns, other than what’s in the book?

    • Kendal says:

      No I don’t, just the ones in the book, although I absolutely adore all their clothes…The girl’s patterns are to die for.

      And thank you! X

Leave a Reply

