On Children

I firmly believe the best thing to do to raise your spirits is to, quite literally, count your blessings. These are some of the things I am grateful for, right now:

These sunshine days. We are just at the brink of summer, tipping the balance from spending more time indoors to outdoors, reading on blankets in the garden, eating fruit and crackers for snacks. I am knee deep in plans for our new garden and all the things I will fill it with.

Unexpected afternoon naps. Today I woke up with a strong, gut wrenchingly physical memory of being in America – of falling asleep in the front garden of the house I was staying in, in midday heat, listening to The Chad Who Loved Me by Mansun. And, oh, I just remembered everything, for a second. I slipped, a little, before I found my time again. I love these moments.

Friends who listen to your rants and tell you exactly what you need to hear, what you know already, complete with expletives and reassuring advice.

Pinterest. Seriously, what did I do late at night before Pinterest?

The little bits of books and Buddhist teachings I have come across. I am keenly aware of how very true it sits with me, and it has helped me a great deal recently. I am learning, slowly, to let go. I wish I had read more of this a long time ago.

My family, Howard and Ava. Above, and beyond, always. Ava teaches me so much, every day. She tells me exactly what I need to do, when I need to do it, and I know that as long as I listen to her, I will be okay.

It reminds me of this wonderful poem that a dear friend and incredible Mama shared with me some time ago:

On Children

Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them,
but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children
as living arrows are sent forth.
The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
and He bends you with His might
that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
so He loves also the bow that is stable.

Kahlil Gibran

(This will most definitely be going up in our new home)

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Children

  1. Matt Blake says:

    Nice to find someone else who liked/likes Mansun! Good old chad who loved me.

Leave a Reply

