Mama’s Day Quilt

Well, I’m finally finished my Mama’s Day Quilt. Intended as a Mama’s Day present for my Mama, and ready, oh, just around a month late.

I have my reasons. I finished the quilt sandwich weeks ago, but on all the quilts I’ve done in the past, I’ve used a tying method to secure all the layers, which works rather nicely with simple geometric designs I think, and also avoids having to use binding or, for that matter, having to actually ‘quilt’ the quilt together.

But I do love the quilted look, and so I decided it was time to bite the bullet and actually quilt this, which made sense since the quilt top was busier than previous quilts. So I used a simple diagonal quilting line, which always seems to compliment square patchwork tops, and I finally, finally, used binding.

And I loved it! Who knew…I had built up such a thing about binding, as I am apt to do about certain things I have yet to try, but I really loved both peicing the binding together and actually attaching it, using the double-folded binding method.

I am really fond of the colours for this one – dusky spring colours, polka dots and florals, which makes it warm but still fresh and fun.

It’s far from perfect, but I am quite happy with it for a first attempt. I used different lengths of fabric from the top and the backing. The whole quilt is just a bit bigger than throw size and I used a very thick wool batting for the middle, which made it slightly harded to work with, but oh-so-warm to snuggle under.

Miss Ava decided it was rather snuggly and good for playing Peekabo with so it took quite a while to convince her to relinquish the quilt to I could actually give it to her Grandma.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

