Pretty as a Picture

This week has been a hard week, but one of the things I most like to do nowadays, to calm myself, is make something.

It sometimes surprises me how much a part of my life making is these days, when just a couple of years ago I wouldn’t have understood how enjoyable, nourishing and necessary it can be.

I’m not sure I understand it even now, except I guess that it is in harmony with what we want most for our family, and that it requires me to slow down, contemplate and enjoy the process as much as the end result.

Today, I finished Ava’s dress for my friend Shirley’s wedding. Following a lovely pattern from Anne Marie Horner’s amazing book ‘Handmade Beginnings’, this dress is called Pretty as a Picture.

image

image

It was a surprisingly simple pattern to follow and I love the outcome so much I think that I will use it several times for some pretty summer dresses too.

I found the fabric in a thrift shop – brand new, heavy weight, 100% cotton from John Lewis, so the entire dress probably cost me less than a Costa coffee and there’s still plenty left (always nice when you’ve just bought a stack of gorgeous fabric from John Lewis that was rather pricey)

image

I do love the colours, all favourites for Ava, and she happens to look rather delicious in it. Complete with a few new curls around her head.

image

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

