the beauty of

Not often, but days here and there
I break into my own memories –
the habit of remembering is not one I know how to break

for those of us left, nostalgia junkies, addicts of the past
we develop a certain philosophy of heartbreak
a way to deal with Loss in terms of beauty, nostalgia and melancholy

whilst the day to day agonies go untethered.
I do not know what to do with those I have lost

constantly trying to figure that one out
at the same time weaving the certain waywardness
of Time into the whole thing.

Yes, I am a harbinger of the past and I am here to say
It is coming fast.

Each of those gone, in one way or another
cast shadows over

songs films conversations
the ways we have lost ourselves over the years

Let’s say for a minute
that I am not still seduced
by the memory of closeness
to all of them

that I am able to hang up those
particular thoughts
when they appear, and they do

what would I say now to
any of them
when they pretend to be
part of the present

‘look closer, distance is an easy disguise
even within ourselves.’

 

 

 

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

