beginnings

January and February are bleak months. I’ve never really enjoyed them. They have been months to get through, months that test my love of the seasons and my love of the colder months in particular.

There is nothing that stands out to me about these eight weeks, no festivals or celebrations that I can look forward to (unless you count Valentine’s Day, which I don’t) . They bring quiet and stillness after an always busy period, necessary but not always easy to face.

Somehow one year changes to another within these eight weeks, and I find myself trying to match the rhythm of these slower days, finding little things to bring joy here and there, like a new project (365) inspired by this lady and this blog, and a list of things to make for two good friends whose babies are due in these next few weeks.

This January day, I have gone food shopping, taken photographs, read The Tomten several times to Miss A, taken a bath, cut my husband’s hair, hid my phone many times (unsuccessfully) from Ava’s curious fingers, taken a little nap with my Little, cooked dinner, talked to a friend on the phone and played, of course. More than enough for now.

 

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

