Solstice

image

It has been over a year, you know, me coming here like this.

The solstice candle is burning in our bedroom window. There is much to be thankful for, much to think about and much to look forward to as the days begin to lengthen once again and the light stays just a little bit longer.

Solstice means something to me now. It is one of many points in a year worthy of pause and attention. A time to slow down and notice the things around us, pull them closer perhaps and sit around the fire certainly, if you’re lucky enough to have one.

I have spent this time merrily making a great deal of things, and I am now in need of rest, mulled wine and stories by that fire. In case I had other plans, my body has decided to stage a full out protest in the form of a cold and I am listening to it this time, even if that means my list is not quite completed.

Tomorrow morning Ava will get her Solstice jammies and Solstice book (The Story of the Root Children by Sibylle von Olfers) and we will gather things to bring inside on a walk in the woods.

Happy Solstice!

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Solstice

  1. I loved this post. And Love that Ava is getting such wonderful Solstice gifts and a walk in the woods. Thank you for sharing and Happy Solstice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

