30 Days of Autumn: 23 (Today)

image

Today, we left York, and I was sad to say goodbye but excited too. We cleaned the house, packed the last few bags and Jo and I set off in her lorry.

Today, I was inspired by the thoughtful, intelligent words from friends. And reminded of the incredible people I have met who are so constantly awesome, and who I have been blessed to know.

Today I was reminded how important it is to stand up for the things you believe in, to always speak the truth as it is to you and to never stay quiet for fear of making others uncomfortable.

Today I was thankful for Jo and all her help. At 28 years old, I am grateful to have called her my friend for the past 24.

Today I said goodbye to a house that has been my home for 3 years. A house that has been my home throughout a wedding, a pregnancy and the first year of my daughter’s life. It has been home in the truest sense of the word.

Today I realised that I have moved a lot in the past ten years. America, Durham, Scotland, London, York. 8 different houses. 8 different homes.

Today I thought about the incredible power of change, of travel and adventure. And how much I am looking forward to this next one.

‘There we were aimed. And as we raced across
Bright knots of rail
Past standing Pullmans, walls of blackened moss
Came close, and it was nearly done, this frail
Traveling coincidence; and what it held
Stood ready to be loosed with all the power
That being changed can give. We slowed again,
And as the tightened brakes took hold, there swelled
A sense of falling, like an arrow-shower
Sent out of sight, somewhere becoming rain.’

from ‘Whitsun Weddings’ by Philip Larkin

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

