30 Days of Autumn: 10

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Morning, by Frank O’Hara

I’ve got to
tell you
how I love
you always
I think of it
on grey
mornings
with death

in my
mouth the
tea
is never hot
enough
then and
the
cigarette
dry the
maroon
robe

chills me I
need you
and look
out the
window
at the
noiseless
snow

At night on
the dock
the buses
glow like
clouds and
I am lonely
thinking of
flutes

I miss you
always
when I go
to the
beach
the sand is
wet with
tears that
seem mine

although I
never weep
and hold
you in my
heart with
a very real
humour
you’d be
proud of

the parking
lot is
crowded
and I stand
rattling my
keys the
car
is empty as
a bicycle

what are
you doing
now
where did
you eat
your
lunch and
were there
lots of
anchovies it

is difficult
to think
of you
without me
in
the
sentence
you depress me
when you
are
alone

Last night
the stars
were
numerous
and today
snow is
their calling
card I’ll not
be cordial

there is
nothing
that
distracts
me music is
only a
crossword
puzzle
do you
know how it
is

when you
are the only
passenger
if there is a
place
further from
me
I beg you
do not go

 
(my favourite poem)

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

