30 Days of Autumn: 5

The Way Back

But I am not lost

any more than leaves are lost

or buried vases

This is not my time

I would only give you second thoughts

I know you must call me traitor

because I have wasted my blood

In aimless love

and you are right

Blood like that

never won an inch of star

You know how to call me

although such a noise now

would only confuse the air

Neither of us can forget

the steps we danced

the words you stretched

to call me out of dust

Yes I long for you

not just as a leaf for weather

or vase for hands

but with a narrow human longing

that makes a man refuse

any fields but his own

I wait for you at an

unexpected place in your journey

like the rusted key

or the feather you do not pick up

until the way back

after it is clear

the remote and painful destination

changed nothing in your life.

Leonard Cohen

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

