street light eyes

soon, a little project here: 30 days of autumn.

today, Thursday, not so much going on. but let me tell you that my little girl took her first steps today, on her 11 month birthday.

and not much can top that. except I love her two newest things – pointing at me in photographs, sometimes with an accompanying ‘Mama!’, everytime she passes one, and resting her head on me for a cuddle and exclaiming ‘aaaaaaaaah’. my sweetheart.

for me? my thoughts are on all the making that is filling up my baskets. three quilts, a dress, two birthday books, a pincushion, a birthday cushion and a little elephant toy.

and the less exciting things, like cooker repair men, shopping delivery and all the laundry to do.

and the first song that came on today, ‘Flightless Bird, American Mouth’, which Ava accidentally selected (but is anything better for autumn than Iron and Wine?) and then danced to.

and later, the first season of Arrested Development to watch, with the husband, whilst Ava sleeps in her nest right next to us.

somedays not much going on is okay, needed. most days not much going on is a kind-of-lie. activity in all corners of this home.

but these days, they pass so quickly, each week slipping suddenly into the weekend. there’s a bustle to these coming months and an energy to match it that I just don’t have in summer. I don’t have that sunshine gene, I have that rusty coloured autumn one.

just fine by me.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

