Crafting

Howard laughs at me and calls me twee, because I keep exclaiming how tired I am after all the crafting. But crafting is a serious business. Making, in general, is rather serious, since it requires time, energy, dedication and more than a little creativity.

But making is what I’ve been doing this week. Scones and cookies at the weekend (because making food is always a pleasure, and instant gratification more or less to boot) to hats, invitations and a pair of play trousers for Miss Ava.

And on top of that, I have turned our house into a small shrine to Nikki McClure, with her beautiful prints in nearly every room now, save for the bathroom (there’s time yet).

It feels good to make. Instead of doing dishes, or laundry, or packing for our trip in a few days. To prioritise making something for someone feels good to me. Tired after a day of making (or crafting) is a good kind of tired, a productive, happy and balanced kind of tired. It makes me take more notice of things around me – things so obvious I rarely stop and really look at them, like this, that I pass by often, which is quite beautiful:

Contributing a little bit of beauty to (an already quite beautiful) world, even if it is through a red summer salad, or a little bit of fun in the form of bright prints throughout your house, this is what’s important.

That’s all.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

