‘this is not a dress rehearsal’

There are just so many things – so, many, things – that I want to do, I can’t even begin to imagine how to start.

A list, perhaps. At least, this is the beginning of a list.

I want to learn to sew. So I can make quilts, dresses, baby clothes, aprons etc etc

I want to learn to bake (which means, I need to learn patience, because as far as I can tell baking needs patience like cooking needs courage) – after all, what good Mama can’t make blueberry pies and sugared cupcakes and gingerbread men? I’ve got the cooking kind of down (I can whizz a few healthy dishes up) but baking. Boy, baking just infuriates me. I feel so …uncreative when I bake, so completely infuriated by the precise instructions.

I want to spend a little bit of time, every day, creating. Of course, in the bigger moment-by-moment sense of the word, yes, that too, but I mean dedicated time every day to do crafty/writing/photography kind of things. (The more I write here, the more I see what a necessity that is and how easy it is to find time to do anything if it is really important to you.)

I also want to spend more time outdoors, even if it just in the back garden. I am a girl who likes inside spaces.

I would like to find a way to like summer, which means finding a way to like myself in summer.

I want to find time to read all the baby books I am gathering. Which means finishing a lot of ones I am half-way through.

I need to start really thinking about unschooling.

That’s enough for me to think on tonight.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

