this moment, 08/07

From Mama Soule:

{this moment} – A Friday ritual. A single photo – no words – capturing a moment from the week. A simple, special, extraordinary moment. A moment I want to pause, savor and remember.

If you’re inspired to do the same, leave a link to your ‘moment’ in the comments for all to find and see.

Happy Weekend to you!

Well, I feel as I have so much to say tonight, but only because I have been going through the older archives of Amanda Blake Soule’s blog, which I love love love, and feel positively beaming with encouragement on nearly everything (being a mama, being a creative individual, and just being).

It is always so incredibly heartwarming to read the very human and very honest account of experiences that people choose to share, and now, as a new Mama myself, I love hearing tales that make me feel comforted.

There is so much I want to do, small things and big things, and this feeling of wanting to create has been building up in me for a long time (heightened by a period where I tried my hardest not to create anything at all). But I have that feeling that seems to affect many a new parent of suddenly wanting to find ways to express all the wonderful, complicated, challenging emotions inside, and because more than anything I want Ava to grow up in a community where is it okay to express anything at all.

I didn’t always feel that way, and it is very important to me that she does. That she feels, above all, free. That’s why sometimes I find the most challenging thing comes from finding the balance between teaching her and guiding her (lots of thoughts recently on how ‘teaching’ can be very manipulative/moulding in its own way, but that’s for another time…perhaps when I am ready to talk about unschooling or moving far, far away).

This week, however, has been an astounding week, and today, on my baby’s 9 month birthday, I wanted to share a few firsts:

Crawling, a lot. Standing up on everything. Standing without assistance for the first time, ever! Waving. Clapping. New words learnt (Eeyore, roses, teddy, clapping, garden, home and rice cakes). Picking up a pint glass (of water!) and having a big glug from it (where the heck did that come from?). Exploring ears. Solid foods at every meal now (cucumber lollies are so the thing of the moment)

And above all, tonight, I am reminded of one of my most favourite quotes ever, by Ezra Pound – ‘make it new’. I want this for Ava, and for myself, too – to be new.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

