windowsill of love

I was reading one of my favourite blogs, by Meredith Winn, and was once again inspired to take a photo of something I love. Here it is, a corner:

And a memory:

A few years ago, something very cool happened, the kind of cool thing that makes you feel as if you’re living in someone’s story, half-written and fated for a life of things that mean something.

I was at a party at an ex-boyfriend’s flat in Glasgow (oh look at the casual and cool nature of that sentence, what a lie!) and I met a guy there who was a little odd, and more than a little interesting. He had a camera with him and he wasn’t wearing shoes. His hair was a bit wild and he was kind of handsome.

We struck up a conversation – you know the kind, where you spark off one another and for a brief moment feel completely and totally in sync with another person – and we got to talking of taking photos, of how we both loved corners of things. That’s all I remember. That one conversation.

And then, the next morning, I woke up to find a camera and a note written on a photograph (of a palm tree), giving me the camera, this old Praktica that needed repairing, so that I could take my own photographs. I’m not sure what my boyfriend at the time thought of that. But that was one of the coolest things I have ever been given. And by an almost stranger too, that I never saw again.

I still have that camera, and it still needs to be repaired. The photos I have taken since – thousands of photos – have been on different cameras, but that camera sits in my bedroom and reminds of something so important – the potential, the infinite potential. It is a big fat beautiful symbol of things I can’t even speak of.

In another life, all I did was take photos. In this life, I hope to catch up someday.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

