Friday things

Today, we played. All day long.

And there was a bath, with a little girl slooshing and slopping around in it, who is now too big for a baby bath, but we won’t talk about that.

And an early afternoon nap in our big bed, the two of us (the two girls) curled up together in the middle, wrapped in a purple sheet.

And a grateful, surprised feeling that it was Friday again. So quick. So often.

And then an entire meal of solid food, and such little fingers picking up all the pieces, carefully examining each one before the disappearing act. Mouth or bib.

And I forgot all day to get dressed, but then realised guess what I’m a grown up and I can do whatever the hell I want, yep, I answer to no one and today was a day that needed nothing beyond pyjamas.

And slug trails on the rug this morning, this mysterious little creature that leaves such silver signs every now and then.

And cold pizza for lunch, always better than hot pizza.

And plans for the weekend. Aunts and uncles and cousins and early morning coffee and a little cream lace flower girls dress for Miss Ava.

And chocolate buttons that solidified in the fridge and reminded me I do not like cold chocolate, this is Howard, this is not me (sometimes we forget who likes what)

More dreams of America, memories or dreams, more longings coming from a place deep below anything I can pinpoint

And roses in full bloom. Beautiful, big-bosomed roses, loud in the middle of the table, pronounced, spectacular, unapologetic.

About Kendal

I'm Kendal Mosley-Chalk. I live in York with my husband and two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

